The 22nd International Workshop on ECR Ion Sources  Busan, Korea 28 August ~ 1 September 2016

HOME General Information

General Information

Welcome Message

Dear colleagues,
Welcome to the ECRIS2016.

We are pleased to invite you cordially to participate in the ECRIS2016, which will take place in Busan, Korea on August 28 - September 1, 2016. This is the 22nd event of International Workshop on ECR Ion Sources. The Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI) are very proud to host ECRIS2016.

The ECRIS2016 will provide an opportunity to communicate and exchange the information and ideas of latest advances and breakthroughs on ECR ion sources. The design, development, applications and related technologies as well as brand-new results are discussed during workshop. The ECRIS2016 is open for all members of the communities who are interested in recent developments in ECR ion sources. Enabling technologies on ECR ion sources are warmly welcome to attend and contribute to all sessions of the ECRIS2016.

The workshop will be held in Busan, a beautiful harbor and the second largest metropolitan city in Korea. We will offer an excellent venue for your staying during workshop, where is near most favorite Hae-un-dae beach. In late summer of 2016, we strongly encourage you to enjoy the scientific as well as cultural programs in Busan. Please, come and join us at ECRIS2016.

We look forward to meeting you in the late summer of 2016 in Busan, Korea.

Mi-Sook Won Chair, ECRIS2016

Important Dates

  • First announcement 5 February
  • Abstract Submission Opens 29 February
  • Registration Opens 10 May
  • Abstract Submission Deadline 27 May
  • Abstract Submission Deadline extended 10 June
  • Geller Prize Nomination Deadline 17 June
  • Early Registration Deadline (fee increase as of 26 June) 26 June
  • Hotel Reservation Opens 10 May
  • Hotel Reservation Deadline 26 June
  • Geller Prize Nomination Deadline extended 30 June
  • ECRIS2016 Workshop 28 August - 1 September
  • Proceeding Submission Deadline 1 September


01. International Advisory Committee

International Advisory Committee
Name Affiliation
Yong-Seok Hwang SNU
Ivan Izotov IAP, RAS
Andrey Efremov JINR
Vadim Skalyga IAP, RAS
Santo Gammino INFN-LNS
Hannu Koivisto JYFL
Thomas Thuillier LPSC
Sandor Biri Atomki
Peter Spadtke GSI
Takahide Nakagawa RIKEN
Hongwei Zhao IMP
Michael Hotchikis ANSTO
Daniel Xie LBNL

02. Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee
Name Affiliation  
Mi-Sook Won KBSI Chair
Byoung Seob Lee KBSI  
In Seok Hong IBS(RISP)  
Hyun-Jong You NFRI  
Jang-Hee Yoon KBSI  
Hyun Gyu Kim KBSI  
Se Yong Choi KBSI  
Jung Woo Ok KBSI  
  • Korea Institute of Radiological & Medical Sciences
  • ibs - Institute for Basic Science
  • NFRI - National Fusion Research Institute
  • NFRI - National Fusion Research Institute

Workshop Venue

Hanwha Haeundae Tivoli is located on the famous Haeundae Beach area which is famous vacation site in Korea and offers a panoramic view of Busan's wonderful transformation. Hanwha Haeundae Tivoli is becoming the landmark of Busan due to its magnificent view of the Gwangan Bridge.

ECRIS 2016 will be held in 3rd floor of Hanwha Haeundae Tivoli. Room information

  • Manarola: Oral Session Oral Session
  • Vernazza: Poster Session
  • Cornelia: place for editorial team
  • Riomaggiore: Meeting place for IOC

Click here for detail information on venue( Hanwha Resort Haeundae Tivoli )

Geller Prize


In recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of ECR (Electron Cyclotron Resonance) ion sources and to encourage promising young scientists, PANTECHNIK – the world leader in commercial ECR ion sources – awards the "Richard Geller PRIZE" on the occasion of ECRIS workshops.
This prize will be awarded for the fifth time during the 22nd Workshop in Busam Korea (2016). An ad-hoc Geller Prize Award Committee will choose the winner of the Richard Geller Prize.
Nominations of candidates (who will be under 41 years, as of December 31, 2016) together with a one page description of the nominee's research work and up to three additional references who may be contacted by the committee, were submitted to the committee chair,
Dr. Vadim Skalyga .


The place and time will be posted upon decided


Name Affiliation  
Vadim Skalyga IAP, RAS Chair
Santo Gammino INFN/LNS  
Takahide Nakagawa RIKEN  
Thomas Thuillier LPSC  
Mi-Sook Won KBSI  
Daniel Xie LBNL  
Hongwe Zhao IMP  


Letter of invitation


ECRIS2016 provides an official letter upon request. Such an invitation is intended to help a potential participant raise funds or obtain his/her country's exit visa. It is not a commitment on the part of the organizers to provide any financial support. If you need an individual invitation, please contact us, .

Invitation letter should include the following details. Please, send us them via email when you request.

  • Participant's Full Name with title
  • Affiliation in detail (Department/University, Company, etc.)
  • Address
  • Telephone Number


  • ECRIS2016 Logo(1) Download
  • ECRIS2016 Logo(2) Download
  • ECRIS2016 Poster(A3) Download
  • ECRIS2016 Poster(A4) Download Download


Mi-Sook Won, Chair Seyong Choi, Secretariat

  • Official workshop email:
  • Tel: +82-51-713-4224, FAX: +82-51-517-2497
  • Address: Korea Basic Science Institute, Pusan National University, 30 Jangjeon, Geumjeong, Busan 46241, Korea